Thursday, May 10, 2007

U.S. tightens grips on visitors under visa waiver program

The U.S. government is in the process of strengthening its biometric identification measures against citizens of the 27 countries that have participated in the U.S. Visa Waiver Program to avoid another 9/11 incident in the country, where more than three thousand people were killed.

In this way, Muslim terrorists coming from countries with whom the U.S. has waiver visa programs can be identified based on the fingerprints that are appearing on the passport information they supplied upon arrival at any of the entry ports in the United States.

In a CNN broadcast today , Clark Kent Ervin, former inspector of the Department of Homeland Security, said that this move is expected to flush out those citizens coming from countries where the U.S. does not allow them to secure visas before entering the country.

He cited United Kingdom as one of the countries whose citizens are not required to apply for a visa when coming the United States for a visit. The official said that this waiver program could endanger the safety of the American people because these terrorists could come in from any of these countries anytime without being subjected to a thorough background check.

Recently, Europe has become a hotbed for Islamic extremism. In Britain, five of the suspected terrorists were arrested by the British police even before they could launch their sinister plans on sensitive targets.

Among the countries currently participating in the Visa Waiver Program of the U.S. include Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

All that is required from the citizens are valid passports issued by the participating countries, and seeking entry for 90 days or less as a temporary visitor.

No comments: